Help Centre

Features of private messaging

Private messages are a great way to start a one-to-one conversation with another member of the TripAdvisor community. There are several ways for you to control the messages you send and receive.

  • Away messages: Your away message will be sent to any TripAdvisor members who try to contact you while you are travelling. All messages sent to you while you are away will be waiting when you return.
    You can set your away message in the Messages section of your profile under Settings – after you type your message, be sure to toggle it to On.
  • Blocking/unblocking members: Blocking prevents a member from sending messages to you, and vice versa. If a member you blocked tries to send you a message, they will see a notice that you are not accepting messages at this time. To learn more, please see our instructions.
  • Notifications: When you have a new message, we will notify you via e-mail and at the top of the TripAdvisor page you are viewing. You can turn off e-mail notifications if you do not wish to receive them.

If you prefer not to receive private messages, you can turn them off at any time.

 

Was this article helpful?