Help Center

Frequently Asked Questions about Syncing Reservation Emails with My Trips

What is reservation email syncing, and how does it work?

How long does it take for my emails to appear in My Trips?

What types of bookings get imported?

I just signed up for email syncing, but my bookings aren’t showing up. What do I do?

Some of my reservations didn’t get imported. What do I do?

My booking was added to the wrong trip. What do I do?

Who can see my bookings?

How do I disable this feature?

 

What is reservation email syncing, and how does it work?

    • With email syncing, you can quickly and easily import bookings from your personal email account to your TripAdvisor account. We’ll organize your travel details automatically within My Trips, so that you can easily find all of your travel plans in one place.
    • Once you select “Connect to Gmail” on the opt-in page, you will receive an email from us confirming sign-up. We will send you additional emails once your plans are added to My Trips.
    • We will only scan and transfer emails that come from an exhaustive list of verified booking sites.

How long does it take for my emails to appear in My Trips?

    • After your initial sign-up, it may take up to a day for all of your existing booking emails from the prior three months to be imported into My Trips. We will email you a confirmation once you have signed up, and additional notifications once your reservations are uploaded to My Trips.
    • The next time you make a reservation, we will automatically add the booking details to My Trips. There may be a slight delay of up to a day, so we recommend referring to your original confirmation email for very last-minute bookings.

What types of bookings get imported?

    • We will import key travel-related reservations, including hotel, flight, car, activity, restaurant, cruise, train reservations, and more.

I just signed up for email syncing, but my bookings aren’t showing up. What do I do?

    • After your initial sign-up, it may take up to a day for all of your existing booking emails to be imported into My Trips. We will send you an email when your reservations are successfully imported.
    • In the event that we don’t find any reservations, we will send you an email to let you know that, too.
    • Sometimes, if the reservation was made with a provider we don’t recognize, we won’t automatically import the reservation into My Trips. If this happens, you may try forwarding the email to trips@tripadvisor.com.

Some of my reservations didn’t get imported. What do I do?

    • We will only import reservations booked within the prior three months. If we missed a booking, simply forward the confirmation email to trips@tripadvisor.com.
    • Occasionally, if the reservation was made with a provider we don’t recognize, we won’t be able to import the booking email. If this happens, you may manually add the booking details as a Custom Note within your trip.

My booking was added to the wrong trip. What do I do?

    • Simply select “Move to another trip” from the drop-down menu on the booking, and select an existing trip or create a new one.

Who can see my bookings?

    • Unless you have shared your trip with a collaborator, you are the only one who has access to your reservation and trip details.  
    • In order to share your booking details, select “Invite Friends” from within your trip. Collaborators who accept the invitation will be able to view, comment on, move, and delete the reservation. Deleting the reservation will remove it from My Trips, for both trip creators and collaborators; note that this will not cancel the original reservation.

How do I disable this feature?

    • Visit the Settings page under your account profile to disable reservation syncing.



Was this article helpful?